Daily Prompt: Anticipation

Anticipation

 
I preceded Black Friday shoppers
arrived in Keen at 8:30 AM, in anticipation
of changing my life, I bought a fitbit.
After three years of serious thought.
The man behind the counter searched
before he found the last “Surge”,
complete with GPS, to track different
styles of exercise and heart rate as
I climb up Laurel Lake Hill, do qi gong, yoga,
and walk up and down forested hills
covered with damp leaves.

In my mind’s eye, time melts backward,
I stride up the steep terrain, no
longer huff , I am at ease as the fitbit notes
my brisk pace. Muscles turn sinewy.
I not longer become anxious at finding
my way out of unknown deer trails; the
gps app will record my trail, and I’ll follow it back.
I anticipate that yoga and qigong will burn
far more calories than I’ve ever suspected.

About elainereardon

Poet, writer, gardener, herbalist, beginner artist- pottery, painting—communing with Spirits of the Forest and Field, bumping into magic, peeking around new corners.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.